Interrupting Momentum

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Emotions and Tennis and other Tennis topics.

How can you slow down the momentum of an opponent?

Interrupting Momentum

On an important point if they miss the first serve pretend you have broken a string and walk over to change racquets. When you return the momentum is lost for their second serve and they have no right to ask
for two serves.

   

Comments

8/29/2007 4:58:07 PM
Michael said:

This suggestion is unethical and shows very poor sportsmanship


10/11/2007 10:20:51 PM
Robert said:

This is absolutely rediculous and his horrible sportsmanship. Behavior like this will earn you a very bad reputation among tennis players very fast.


12/18/2008 10:37:09 AM
Marie said:

This is incorrect. In Friend At Court, the USTA handbook of rules and regulations, it clearly states in USTA Comment 21:7 if the receiver was not ready between 1st and 2nd serve because of something within the receiver's control (broken string) the server gets two serves.


4/29/2009 9:05:45 AM
Tom said:

In a tournament that would be considered as really inappropriate behaviour.

You might get away with it once, but it's really terrible advice for new players.


10/19/2009 11:12:05 PM
jeff said:

This goes against the spirit of "The Code" in tennis which is a governing set of rules and fair play standards... that all players are expected to practice. Instead, have the character to give the return of serve your best effort and discard the gamesmanship.




Name:


URL: (optional)


Comment:


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Tennis Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!


Guru Spotlight
PJ Campbell