Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Tennis Rules and other Tennis topics.
In doubles, a tennis game rule of thumb is you should not call balls wide when they land near the far sideline, unless the call is obvious and your partner was somehow hindered from seeing the ball land. If you are the receiver, and your partner is on or near the service line at the start of a point, your partner has the best view of whether a serve is in or long. You can make a call if he doesn't, but always defer to his judgment. (You generally shouldn't disagree with your partner's calls anyway.)
Situation happened today. Receiver's partner called serve long. Receiver hit the ball back into serving team's court while disagreeing, saying it was in. Serving team stopped play to clarify. Receiving team said "Sorry, take two".
Question: Is is a "play over", or loss of point to the receiving team?
|Sheri Ann Richerson|